"Easter? This weekend?!?" - Reisverslag uit The Bottom, Bonaire van Sanne Koenen - WaarBenJij.nu "Easter? This weekend?!?" - Reisverslag uit The Bottom, Bonaire van Sanne Koenen - WaarBenJij.nu

"Easter? This weekend?!?"

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sanne

08 April 2013 | Bonaire, The Bottom

I always write the stories for my weblog during the weekend. Last weekend I started out writing one, but I did not put it online yet because I wanted to write some more. Now I can't remember what it was that I still wanted to add. So here it is, unedited, so imagine you were reading this last weekend…


Kai (the manager of the SCF) called us together for a staff-meeting on Monday last week. He wanted to discuss the planning for last week, since the week would end early due to Good Friday. That took me by surprise. "What? Easter is this weekend?!?"

I did know that it would be Easter weekend soon, as a week or 2 ago I'd looked in my diary and noticed that it said 'Good Friday' and 'Easter Monday' in there somewhere…. But I had not realised that it would be quite so soon. Usually I know exactly when my next holiday or next day off is scheduled, because I usually always have plans for such a holiday-weekend. On Saba, however, I hardly ever have plans that require such a holiday-weekend, so I'm much less aware of them. Also, unlike in the Netherlands, the shops here are not filled with the commercial rubbish that makes people buy more things (food especially) than they need. So that did not forewarn me either of these oncoming Christian holy days. What do you do if you suddenly have 4 days off rather than 2?

The answer is: sleep in, relax, chill, read a book, write the next story for your weblog, go to the pub for a beer, cook dinner with friends and spend a day working on your research because doing nothing does become boring after a few days…. Oh, and off course have an Easter breakfast! Unfortunately that sounds easier than it really is on an island like Saba, especially when the fact that it's Easter in just a few days takes you by surprise. When I did my shopping on Saturday there was no bread left in the supermarkets, nor could I find any croissants, bake-off buns or such. Not even one Easter egg left to go with tea of coffee (though I'm not actually sure if there had been any Easter eggs in the first place… The same goes for the croissants and bake-off buns, by the way). So instead I bought some very expensive orange juice to go with my yoghurt and cereals in the morning and some eggs and bacon for lunch. Not quite the same as having a sit-down breakfast with the whole family and having painted eggs and all sorts of bread and buns like I'm used to at home. I love being away from home to experience other cultures, climates and see different parts of the world. Usually I'm too preoccupied with all these experiences, that I do not miss home at all, but at moments like this I do!

Many hugs to all who are reading this weblog.
Let me know how you're doing and whether you miss me too ;-)!

Love, Sanne

  • 09 April 2013 - 09:13

    Ingrid:

    Hoi Sanne,

    Ik zie het als een goed teken dat je vergeet dat het Paasweekend is! Hier was het Paasweekend best oké met af en toe een zonnetje! Prima weer voor een wandelingetje in Zuid-Limburg. Gelukkig wordt het nu ook eindelijk warmer en begin ik een klein beetje voorjaarskriebels te krijgen :D

    Verder gaat alles hier z'n gangetje, met thesis, sporten (alleen nu even niet vanwege een verzwikte enkel) en gezellige activiteiten... maar ik mis jou ook hoor!

    Liefs, Ingrid

  • 11 April 2013 - 10:57

    Kees:

    Heey Zus,

    Het valt niet mee en soms duurt het een aantal dagen maar dan neem ik toch even de tijd om je bericht te lezen.
    Laatst kwam ik opt net een top 10 van mooiste plekken op de wereld tegen en daar stond Saba ook tussen en nu ben ik eigenlijk wel benieuwd naar je foto's.

    Ons paas-ontbijt/brunch was zo stil dat ik de radio maar aangezet heb om het iets te laten lijken. Dus wil ik je even reserveren voor volgend jaar :p

    Grtn Kees

  • 02 Mei 2013 - 21:16

    Lotte:

    Ik weet precies wat je bedoelt! Op dit soort dagen is het een beetje een "gek" gevoel om van huis te zijn, en niet te doen wat je nou eenmaal gewend bent te doen ;)
    Mijn Paasontbijt dit jaar was met een Bulgaars-Poolse collega, haar zus, een Indiase en Poolse vriend van hen en een Amerikaans couch surfer. Dat noem ik nog eens een bont gezelschap. We hadden de gekleurde eieren eigenlijk helemaal niet nodig, haha!

Tags: Easter

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sanne

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 414
Totaal aantal bezoekers 102667

Voorgaande reizen:

11 November 2016 - 15 Maart 2017

Sailing across the Atlantic Ocean

04 Februari 2013 - 18 Juni 2013

Research in the Dutch tropics

01 Juli 2009 - 05 Augustus 2009

Back to the era of the VOC

21 Mei 2007 - 13 April 2008

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: