Back at home II - Reisverslag uit Wageningen, Nederland van Sanne Koenen - WaarBenJij.nu Back at home II - Reisverslag uit Wageningen, Nederland van Sanne Koenen - WaarBenJij.nu

Back at home II

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sanne

30 Juni 2013 | Nederland, Wageningen

It has been almost 2 weeks since I left Saba and flew back to my other home: The Netherlands. I had been looking forward to that, but I had been dreading it too. Dreading it because I was going to leave behind an awesomely magnificant island and some great people who have become good friends.

So far I haven't missed Saba a lot, but that's only because I've been busy with the activities and things that made me look forward to going home: I've caught up with family and friends, been to my brothers high school graduation ceremony, I have gone back to my own room in Wageningen, been to a friends birthday party and been sailing on the Rhine. I've gone groceries shopping in a supermarket where they have fresh veggies all week, not just on Wednesday when the boat comes in to deliver them. And I've even ticked off most of the foods on my "To Eat When Back At Home" list, including lasagna, pancakes, strawberries, Dutch old cheese, "hagelslag" (=chocate sprinkles) and "witbier" (=wheat beer). I've unpacked my bags (twice, first at my mums place, then at my own) and moving boxes.

Tomorrow I'm going to check if my university campus is still in the same spot as where I left it 4.5 months ago. (I fear it will be…) And I'll start my first attempt at getting used to the work rhythm again. This feels weird. Even though I have only been back for just under 2 weeks, when I look back at my time on Saba, it almost feels like I dreamed it all. I know from experience that time flies. Especially when you have such a firm start and end date of a certain period, you notice how fast it actually passes by. My last two weeks on Saba, however, seemed to go really slow, because I was hyperaware of the fact that those were my last two weeks. But even now they already seem blurry and I can hardly remember all the things I have done during those two weeks.

Some moments and days stand out very clearly though. For instance my last survey on the Saba Bank (again I was very very sea sick), my last day of diving (I finally did a few fun dives too, after having finished my research dives), my last hike around the island (a beautiful and relatively easy trail with spectacular views of the rainforest and ocean), my last night out (saying goodbye to a lot of friends) and my departure from Saba.

I will certainly be back one day.
Until that time comes though, I'll savour the memories and will be grateful for the great experience that it has been.

Thanks for reading my weblog (again)!
The travel-virus has not been eradicated, so:

Will be continued next season……… ;-)

Love, Sanne

  • 30 Juni 2013 - 22:08

    Marieke:

    Hoi Sanne,

    Wat een ervaringen allemaal zeg, ik heb ze met plezier gelezen.
    Fijn dat je weer veilig terug bent in ons landje.
    De herinneringen die je allemaal beleefd hebt zullen voor altijd bij je blijven.

    xxx Marieke

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Wageningen

Sanne

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 1013
Totaal aantal bezoekers 102686

Voorgaande reizen:

11 November 2016 - 15 Maart 2017

Sailing across the Atlantic Ocean

04 Februari 2013 - 18 Juni 2013

Research in the Dutch tropics

01 Juli 2009 - 05 Augustus 2009

Back to the era of the VOC

21 Mei 2007 - 13 April 2008

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: